Cover Reveal: THE SECRETS OF LAKE ROAD by Karen Katchur

Karen’s cover reveal is here! Get ready for a great women’s fiction suspense coming your way in August 2015 from Thomas Dunne/St. Martin’s Press.

From the publisher:

A haunting story about the destructive power of secrets, this accomplished and gripping suspenseful women’s fiction debut is perfect for fans of Lisa Scottoline and Heather Gudenkauf.

SecretsLakeRoad_cover_hi res

Jo has been hiding the truth about her role in her high school boyfriend’s drowning for sixteen years. Every summer, she drops her children off with her mother at the lakeside community where she spent summers growing up, but cannot bear to stay herself; everything about the lake reminds her of the guilt she feels. For her daughter Caroline, however, the lake is a precious world apart; its familiarity and sameness comforts her every year despite the changes in her life outside its bounds. At twelve years old and caught between childhood and adolescence, she longs to win her mother’s love and doesn’t understand why Jo keeps running away.

Then seven-year-old Sara Starr goes missing from the community beach. Rescue workers fail to uncover any sign of her—but instead dredge up the bones Jo hoped would never be discovered, shattering the quiet lakeside community’s tranquility. Caroline was one of the last people to see Sara alive on the beach, and feels responsible for her disappearance. She takes it upon herself to figure out what happened to the little girl. As Caroline searches for Sara, she uncovers the secrets her mother has been hiding, unraveling the very foundation of everything she knows about herself and her family. Caroline’s coming-of-age story, mirrored with Jo’s troubled teenage past, makes for an enthralling read that is impossible to put down and hard to forget.

Pre-order:

Amazon: http://hyperurl.co/LakeRoadAMZ

BN: http://hyperurl.co/LakeRoadBN

And congratulate Karen!

Accolades:

“Karen Katchur’s THE SECRETS OF LAKE ROAD gripped me with its provocative opening sentence and held me in its spell until its final, shattering revelations. This is a powerful thriller about buried secrets that painfully resurface, innocence lost across the generations, and the terrible price we pay for growing up and growing older. Karen Katchur knows how to write and write well about ordinary people stretched to their limits. A suspenseful, heartbreaking novel.”
–David Bell, author of THE FORGOTTEN GIRL

“The rhythms of a summer community, the tensions of an unsolved crime, and the thrumming undertow of adolescence come together in this sparkling debut.  Beautifully paced from captivating beginning to satisfying end.”
–Kelly Simmons, author of STANDING STILL and THE BIRD HOUSE

“A lake’s murky depths hide past secrets in this unforgettable debut. Karen Katchur deftly infuses a summer lake colony with nostalgia—damp bathing suits, the bang of a cottage door, a pavilion jukebox playing old songs. But this summer, no one goes into the water. Part tender coming-of-age, part edge-of-your-seat suspense, THE SECRETS OF LAKE ROAD lured me in from its opening pages. Pick up this book forewarned that you will do nothing else until you finish reading it.”
–Karen Brown author of THE LONGINGS OF WAYWARD GIRLS

“With chilling unease that keeps you turning pages, Katchur deftly evokes the way youthful actions echo through our lives. Nostalgia wrestles tragedy in this haunting tale.”
–Kathryn Craft, author of THE ART OF FALLING and THE FAR END OF HAPPY

“At once gripping and evocative, THE SECRETS OF LAKE ROAD conjures childhood’s best and worst moments—its secret joys and terrors, its hopefulness and uncertainty. Katchur skillfully weaves between past and present, revealing devastating truths along the way.”
–Paula Treick DeBoard, author of THE MOURNING HOURS and THE FRAGILE WORLD

“Captivating and highly addictive, this story will break your heart – and then renew your faith in love.”
— Marissa Stapley author of MATING FOR LIFE

 

Advertisements

What do you think? I love hearing from you!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s