October Webinar: How To Write A First Draft In A Month

October 23rd I’ll be teaching another great webinar with Writer’s Digest.

 

Yes, you can write a draft of your book in a month! Don’t let limited time, busy lives, or other obstacles get in your way of writing the book that is in you. A manuscript in 30 days requires thoughtful preparation, strategic planning, a strong sense of discipline and loads of enthusiasm—and this live webinar will give you the concrete tools to achieve your goal. If the only thing that’s holding you back from getting words on the page is no plan, this webinar has all the answers.

Literary agent Carly Watters has been coaching authors through first drafts for a decade and she’ll present a comprehensive strategy to “winning” National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo): a 50,000+ word draft in 30 days. This webinar is all about volume and getting 1,667+ words written per day. Whether you’ll be joining a “5am Writers’ Club,” writing during your lunch breaks at work, or after your kids have gone to sleep—it’s possible for everyone. The webinar will focus on character sketches, detailed storyboarding, realistic schedules, and tips to keep up your momentum through the full month of daily writing.

There will be roadblocks, but you’ll be better positioned to succeed with the more preparation you can do in advance.

 

WHAT YOU’LL LEARN:

  • How to create an overview for your month of writing
  • How to create an engaging premise, well-paced plot, and comprehensive character sketches in advance of writing
  • How to stick to a daily word count
  • Which chapters to flag for future revision and when to forge on to the next chapter
  • Tips for setting, and maintaining, a realistic schedule
  • Ways to overcome complicated life stuff, writers’ block and sluggish writing days

 

WHO SHOULD ATTEND?

  • Writers thinking about National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo)
  • Writers scheduled to participate in NaNoWriMo this November
  • Writers who are writing their first manuscript ever
  • Writers who have written a book, but are looking for a faster-paced schedule this time around
  • Writers who are “pantsers” but want to become “plotters”
  • “Plotters” who want to refine their habits

 

A critique is included. Sign up here, today!

Advertisements

May Webinars

Screen Shot 2018-04-07 at 5.44.12 PMI’m back teaching this month and there are two options for you to choose from:

She Writes UniversityThe Modern Author: Understanding Sales Data, Rankings and More (Thursday May 17, 7pm est)

Sales data, Amazon rankings, social media followers—what do these have to do with writing?

Everything. They’re the numbers that run our business.

More than ever publishing professionals from booksellers to editors are looking at figures to determine everything from marketing budgets and whether to buy your next book based on track record and sales potential. We’ll discuss sell-in to bookstores, print runs, BookScan, comparative titles sales figures, bestsellers, market research, Amazon charting, and lastly social media platforms and numbers of followers for successful and sustained influence.

Today’s author requires two hats that are equal in strength: writing & sales/marketing. The most successful and valuable authors know how to do both. Let’s make numbers work for you while you take care of the craft.

 

Writer’s DigestFind Success with Your Query Letter: Getting Beyond Form Letters

Writers are tired of all those rejection letters piling up in their inbox. Some writers are confused about what they mean and how to learn from them. Agents don’t love sending rejections; in fact, it’s agents’ least favorite part of the job. Agents send them for many reasons like writers not following guidelines or targeting the right agents, or perhaps an agent really does like a pitch, but they don’t love it. Everyone can see that’s a broad spectrum. So how do writers know where they fall into it? Believe it or not, those form rejections hold the secret to writers’ success-they just don’t know it yet.

This live webinar will change the way attendees think about the polite passes they get from agents. P.S. Literary VP and Senior Agent Carly Watters will teach writers how to deconstruct rejections, interpret unknown patterns, provide attendees with winning pitching formulas, and empower writers to find their success within the querying system.

Agents actually love the slush pile because it’s where they find most of their debut clients. Carly will show attendees how to stand out in the slush pile and reduce the number of rejections received through simple and straightforward techniques they’ll wish they had before they began submitting. Carly has proudly found 95% of her fiction authors in the slush pile and she’ll share the patterns of success that helped land those writers with her.

It’s never too late to have a winning writing career. Those rejections aren’t the end. All it takes is one yes. And Carly will help you get closer to yes.

WHAT YOU’LL LEARN:

  • How to recognize patterns in rejection letters
  • When to rewrite your query and when to revise your manuscript
  • Why agents send form rejections and why they send personalized rejections-and what the difference is
  • Winning formulas for your premise, hook and query letter
  • Why your pitch should focus on plot, not theme
  • The truth about how agents process queries
  • How to think like an agent who is reading their slush pile

2018 MSWL

Subway Girls_Final CoverI’m open to queries again and here’s the wishlist:

  • Upmarket, structurally interesting, sweeping love stories of all kinds. I’d truly love a LGBTQ in the vein of ONE DAY or THE VERSIONS OF US. Something like a more commercial PAYING GUESTS (which I loved, but I’m not interested in capital L literary fiction right now).
  • Historical novels where plot & setting have to work together i.e. NIGHTINGALE, ARCADIA, GIRL YOU LEFT BEHIND. I’m not interested in writers using historical novels to tell me how much research they’ve done. I want a very plotty historical. Beatriz Williams-esque.
  • Multi POV, time slip or dual past/present narrative structure women’s fiction, historical, domestic suspense, or upmarket like THE ALICE NETWORK, THE SUBWAY GIRLS.
  • Literary mysteries/suspense/thrillers with female lead i.e. DARK PLACES, YOU WILL KNOW ME, THE FEVER, THE POWER
  • Still looking at domestic suspense, and psychological thrillers. The stakes are high and competitive out there so I’m not looking for something that is overcomplicated and trying to out-do what’s on the market. I’m looking for excellent, simple (which is so much harder!), spooky/creepy writing.
  • Plot-driven story of marriage, complicated family drama, or mother/daughter relationships i.e. THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS, EVERYTHING I NEVER TOLD YOU, MATING FOR LIFE, MODERN LOVERS, THE NEST, SHE REGRETS NOTHING, THE PEOPLE WE HATE AT THE WEDDING
  • Coming-of-age anything! i.e. THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY, YONAHLOSSEE RIDING CAMP, AFTER HER, THE SECRETS OF LAKE ROAD, THE GIRLS, HISTORY OF WOLVES, GIRLS ON FIRE, AGE OF MIRACLES, YOU WILL KNOW ME
  • Would love an East/West Germany or Berlin Wall historical with a romantic hook. Something sweeping and heartbreaking.
  • I’ve been fascinated by this actual event for a decade. Looking for a historical women’s fiction/book club book about garment district’s 1911 shirtwaist fire tragedy.
  • Accessible, smart, heartbreaking love stories: THE VERSIONS OF US, FOREVER INTERRUPTED, ONE DAY
  • Commercial “Millennial” novels: i.e. STARTUP, THE HATING GAME, THE ASSISTANTS, THE KNOCKOFF, THE REGULARS. Starting careers, moving to new cities, friendships etc.
  • Family secrets & single events that chance the course of many lives i.e. COMMONWEALTH, ONE DAY, VERSIONS OF US, ATONEMENT
  • #ownvoices, sweet, funny, family-centric love stories i.e. JANE THE VIRGIN, AYESH AT LAST
  • Non fiction: parenting, feminism, health, wellness, business, essay collections—from individuals with large platforms (bloggers, YouTube, newsletters etc)

Submission directions here.

2018 Client Projects

There are some talented writers (mine!) with gorgeous books coming out (below!) that you can order or pre-order right now.

Andrea Dunlop’s SHE REGRETS NOTHING (Atria/Simon and Schuster, 2018)

Named a “Must-Read” by Town & Country * Elite Daily InStyle

“The love child of Gossip Girl and Crazy Rich Asians, plus the social climbing of a Gatsby party.” —Refinery29

SHE REGRETS NOTHING

Ross Benes’s TURNED ON (Sourcebooks, 2018)

A gripping exploration of the relationship between sex and our society, with a foreword by bestselling author A.J. Jacobs

TurnedOn_101117_CVR

Cara Sue Achterberg’s ANOTHER GOOD DOG (Pegasus Books, 2018)

A warm and entertaining memoir about what happens when you foster fifty dogs in less than two years―and how the dogs save you as much as you save them.

Another Good Dog Cover

Susie Orman Schnall’s THE SUBWAY GIRLS (St. Martin’s/Macmillan, 2018)

“Schnall has written a book that is smart and timely…Feels perfect for fans of Beatriz Williams and Liza Klaussmann.” ―Taylor Jenkins Reid, acclaimed author of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

“A fast-paced, clever novel filled with romantic possibilities, high-stakes decisions, and harsh realities. Perfect for fans of Fiona Davis’s The Dollhouse, this engrossing tale highlights the role that ambition, sexism, and true love will forever play in women’s lives.” ―Amy Poeppel, author of Small Admissions

Subway Girls_Final Cover

Karen Katchur’s RIVER BODIES (Thomas & Mercer/Amazon, Fall 2018)

“Karen Katchur’s River Bodies has it all: a horrific murder, mysteries resurrected from the past, a story line packed with tension, and vivid characters to bring it all to life. A riveting thriller that suspense readers will love.” — Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author

cover Karen Katchur RIVER BODIES .jpg

Anne T. Donahue’s NOBODY CARES (ECW Press, Fall 2018)

From the author of the popular newsletter That’s What She SaidNobody Cares is a frank, funny personal essay collection about work, failure, feminism, and the messy business of being alive in your twenties and thirties.

nobody cares

Meg Myers Morgan’s EVERYTHING IS NEGOTIABLE (Seal Press/Hachette, Fall 2018)

Surprising ways we limit ourselves and our happiness, and how to challenge the internalized wisdom and circular thinking that holds us back.

9781580057899

Lindsay Wong’s THE WOO-WOO (Arsenal Pulp Press, Fall 2018)

In this jaw-dropping, darkly comedic memoir, a young woman comes of age in a dysfunctional Asian family who blame their woes on ghosts and demons when they should really be on anti-psychotic meds.

9781551527369_woowoo